Interview with our employees – Anette Bahlke

Name: Anette Bahlke

Position: administrative secretary (Backoffice)

In our team since: November 2015

 

Anette, what do you enjoy most about your job?

“Everything! There’s nothing I don’t enjoy.  But there are many things that really present me with great challenges, especially when they have to do with technical terms. But luckily I have nice bosses and helpful colleagues.”

What makes VC special for you as an employer?

“That my bosses are just as “normalo’s” as the employees.  They dress “normal”, they talk “normal”, they have “normal” everyday worries. That’s what makes them so likeable and special to me.
I also think the building with the offices is great. An old, disused station building – simply enchanting! Just like my bosses, but they are not shut down and also not quite so old 😊😊😊.”

What 3 things can’t be missing next to your computer and a notepad on your desk when you’re working?

“My paper pad to scribble on, my punch and my stapler.”

What is your life like outside of VC?

“I love soccer and I am a fan of BVB. During the week I don’t have much time for my hobby besides my job, mother and housewife. But I plan my work / appointments on the weekend so that I do not miss the BVB game in any case. It would be best not to ring the doorbell or call anyone – unless it’s a real emergency! 😉”

If you could change one thing in the world, what would it be?

“Just one thing? That’s hard… I think I would stop climate change!”

What would you get up for in the middle of the night?

“If Jürgen Klopp (former coach of the BVB) would climb through my window. 😊
But even if my bladder presses 😊. Or if our son is sick, I also get up when our cats bring living food home ☹. And I can’t stand a thunderstorm in bed either.”

If you could choose a country: Which one would you like to live in and why?

“I don’t want to live in any other country than Germany. Actually I don’t want to live in any other village/town. I feel very comfortable in Niedernberg. We have there a nice little house with garden. My whole family lives there (mother, siblings), we have beautiful lakes, forest and a soccer club – even if not the BVB 😉. I feel safe here and we don’t have to struggle with environmental catastrophes like forest fires, volcanic eruptions, earthquakes, floods etc.; at most with some flooding (Main) – at least that’s how it has been until now.”

What would you get up for in the middle of the night?

“I see that I push our 15-year-old, pubescent son out of the house in time with breakfast and sandwiches, feed the cats, fill the washing machine and dishwasher, clean the kitchen, ventilate and shower.”

Where would you like to develop professionally and privately?

“VC has grown very fast. You actually learn new things every day and continue winding yourself up automatically.
Privately I am where I always wanted to be. Family, house, pets, no financial worries and above all healthy. See there currently no development need.”😊